SEAWEED: VITALITY BOOSTER

After insects comes seaweed: superfood & super ingredient 2017.

It’s everywhere: ground up for smoothies, used in morning cereals in Asia, in aperitifs, in cosmetic active ingredients, etc. Seaweed has even become the star of Instagram, thanks to “mermaid toast” in blue and green shades due to spirulina.

Micro and macro-algae, known for its multiple properties (rich in protein, in antioxidants and in minerals), is now being spotlighted in creative and appetising ways. Some seaweed has a proven detox effect, making it more than just a “healthy” plant food.

 This food trend in on the rise:
60% of Germans have tried or would like to try seaweed as a protein source (Mintel 2016)

“Seaweed may not be the next kale, but it’s certainly something we’ll be eating. Alga oil is already in a number of foods…and seaweed is starting to make itself known from a culinary side as being part of Japanese cuisine and part of a healthful Asian diet, but also for its delicious umami flavour.” Food Business News, US – 2017

Spirulina, a superstar and energy champion:
The volume of spirulina used for food and beverages is expected to quintuple in 2020 from 2014, and the natural food-colouring industry to grow at an average annual rate of 6.8% in that time frame. (The Food Marketing Institute)

 From food to beauty:

A rich and abundant raw material:

“The seaweed revolution. It’s green, local, high-tech and has super powers to protect our skin from the effects of time. In 2017, laboratories are undergoing a revolution: seaweed is surging like a tidal wave on researchers’ benches, who are distilling their benefits in hair products, slimming creams, sun care products and detox formulas. It is especially the new star of anti-ageing.” Elle, FR-2017

PROOF IN THE PRODUCTS

 Food:

  • Tali Seaweed crisps by Aqua B (Algues Marinoe)
  • Spirulina crackers by Arthrospira Gourmet Spiruline
  • Spirulina-Peppermint Kombucha, by La Brasserie Lökki
  • Nori seaweed tartare, by Bord à Bord
  • Spirunoix, dried biscuits, by Tiboom

Supplements:

  • Super Boost: Energie et Tonus, by Algo’Nergy
  • Gourmet Spiruline

Cosmetics:

  • Hydro Effect Serum, anti-pollution serum, by Lavera

 

Other innovations here

LES ALGUES, BOOSTER DE VITALITE

Les algues : superfood & super ingrédient 2017.

Elles sont partout : en poudre pour smoothies, dans les céréales du matin en Asie, à l’apéritif en tartare twisté, dans les actifs cosmétiques. Les algues sont mêmes devenues les stars d’Instagram, grâce au « mermaid toast », tartine du matin, du déjeuner ou du goûter en camaïeu de verts et de bleus dus à la spiruline.

Les micro et les macro-algues connues pour leurs multiples propriétés (riches en protéines, en antioxydants, en minéraux), sont désormais mises en avant de manière créative et appétissante. Il ne s’agit plus seulement d’être un végétal « healthy », même si certaines ont un pouvoir dépolluant avéré bien utile pour notre organisme!

Un engouement food qui monte:
60% des Allemands ont testé ou aimeraient tester les algues comme source de protéines (Mintel 2016)

« Les algues ne sont peut être pas le prochain ‘Kale’, mais c’est certainement quelque chose que nous allons manger. Les huiles d’algues sont déjà présentes dans un certain nombre de plats… et les algues commencent à se faire connaître en matière culinaire comme partie intégrante de la cuisine japonaise et de la cuisine chinoise healthy… mais aussi pour leur délicieux goût d’Umami. » Food Business News, US – 2017

La spiruline, super star et championne énergétique:
Le volume de spiruline utilisée pour les aliments et boissons devrait être multiplié par 5 entre 2014 et 2020 (The Food Marketing Institute).

From food to beauty :

Une matière première riche à foison :

« La révolution des algues. Elles sont green, locales, high-tech et dotées de super-pouvoirs pour protéger notre épiderme des méfaits du temps. En 2017, les labos sont en pleine révolution : les algues déferlent comme un tsunami sur les paillasses des chercheurs qui distillent leurs bienfaits aussi bien dans les produits capillaires que les crèmes minceur, les gammes solaires ou les formules détoxifiantes. Et surtout, elles sont les nouvelles stars de l’anti-âge. » Elle, FR-2017

LA PREUVE EN PRODUITS

Food :

  • Chips d’algues Tali, par Aqua B (Algues Marinoe)
  • Crackers à la spiruline, par Arthrospira Gourmet Spiruline
  • Kombucha Spiruline-Menthe poivrée, par la Brasserie Lökki
  • Tartare d’algues Nori, par Bord à Bord
  • Spirunoix, galet
  • tes déshydratées, par Tiboom

Supplémentation :

  • Super Boost : Energie et Tonus, par Algo’Nergy
  • Gourmet Spiruline

Cosmétiques:

  • Hydro Effect Serum, sérum anti-pollution par Lavera

Découvrir d’autres Innovations