Fair trade and Forest Garden labels at Natexpo

Players on the organic market often embrace sustainable development as a whole and add other labels to their organic approach to be able to offer products which respect biodiversity, or which give precedence to fair trade practices.

Dedicated to offering the best trade conditions and guaranteeing producers’ rights, Max Havelaar and Solidar Monde are leading Fair Trade companies.

In France, 73% of fair trade products with the Fairtrade/Max Havelaar label are also organic, i.e. a total of around 2,500 references. Protecting the planet also means protecting the people who live on it. Organic farming and fair trade combine these two approaches. The organic label provides strong guarantees in terms of environmental protection, while the Fairtrade/Max Havelaar label factors in economic and social criteria aimed at protecting producers and farm workers and encouraging local development. It additionally adds an environmental pillar which encourages the sustainable management of natural resources, and promotes and facilitates the transition to organic farming.

 

With thousands of volunteers, Solidar’Monde / Artisans du Monde has been working to change international trade rules since 1974 by way of mobilisation and awareness campaigns aimed at citizens and the sale of fair trade products.

Through a particularly demanding approach, Solidar’Monde’s ambition is to make constant progress, to allow producers, with unique and traditional know-how, to be proactive in their own development:

  • Economic development: minimum price guarantee, pre-financing of orders, bonus for joint projects, sustainable commitment with producers and transparency of the market chain.
  • Environmental protection: reduce the ecological footprint of production, defend biodiversity.
  • Defend social and human rights

 

In terms of biodiversity, the Forest Garden label is one frequently seen among Natexpo exhibitors. This label, created around 20 years ago, certifies products from plantations that respect biodiversity and social equity.

 

Guayapi is concerned with complying with the fundamental principles of the Forest Garden Products’ code of ethics:

  • Restore original ecosystems with respect for local populations in their original habitat, in a healthy environment, and thus preserve their traditional culture and know-how within the framework of fair trade.
  • Promote renewal of vegetation in deforested or degraded land and increase the plant and animal richness and biodiversity.
  • Improve land yield and reduce erosion with completely natural methods.
  • Transform intensive chemical production of farms into natural and organic production.
  • Give greater economic value to products from local populations from all over the world.
  • Promote and develop knowledge on sustainable development and citizens’ consumption.
  • Support producers to reach these goals together.

 

As for Agro Sourcing, their cashew nuts come from their sectors with the “Forest Garden” label in Vietnam. This is one of 15 sectors set up by Agro Sourcing around the world. They allow hundreds of farmers to add value to their products on the European market, which has major benefits for them: higher income, preservation of their land thanks to the conversion to organic farming, limitation of the exodus to large cities by maintaining profitable farming activity, saving biodiversity by keeping traditional farming, etc.

 

Lastly, the BIOPARTENAIRE® label, which currently features on over 400 products in organic and similar shops, is the result of the association in 2002 of different pioneers in the organic market. At the time, it already had an alternative vision of trade and could not identify with any of the fair trade control systems, which it considered inadequate.

Over the years, the BIOPARTENAIRE® label has strengthened, with a more well-rounded vision and controls at every step, entrusted to a third-party organisation in order to remain neutral. It combines notions of fair trade, contract arrangements, dialogue and corporate social responsibility.

 

The BIOPARTENAIRE® label is taking part in Natexpo in a collective space which groups together a dozen member brands: Champlat, traditional conserve-maker; Belledonne, bakery and confectionary products; Kaoka and L’Attelier chocolate-makers; Emile Noël, an oil-mill; Lokki, tea-based products, Ecoidées, organic product retailer; Pronatec, importer of raw materials; Bio.K pro-biotics, Arcadie, producer of aromatic and medicinal plants; Elixens olfactory solutions; and La Nef, specialist in ethical financing.

 

 

Greentrade

Les labels équitables et Forest Garden s’illustrent à Natexpo

Bien souvent les acteurs de la bio intègrent le développement durable dans sa globalité et associent à leur démarche bio d’autres labels permettant ainsi de proposer des produits respectueux de la biodiversité, ou favorisant des pratiques commerciales équitables.
Soucieux d’offrir de meilleures conditions commerciales et de garantir les droits des producteurs, Max Havelaar et Solidar Monde sont des acteurs incontournables du Commerce Equitable.
En France 73% des produits équitables labellisés Fairtrade/Max Havelaar sont également bio, soit un total d’environ 2500 références. Protéger la planète c’est également protéger les hommes et les femmes qui y vivent. L’agriculture biologique et le commerce équitable conjuguent ces 2 approches. Le label bio apporte des garanties fortes pour la protection de l’environnement. Le Label Fairtrade/Max Havelaar quant à lui intègre des critères économiques et sociaux visant à protéger les producteurs et les travailleurs agricoles et à favoriser le développement local, en plus d’un exigeant pilier environnemental qui favorise une gestion durable des ressources naturelles, encourage et facilite la transition vers l’agriculture biologique.

Avec ses milliers de bénévoles, Solidar’Monde / Artisans du Monde s’attache à faire évoluer les règles du commerce international depuis 1974 grâce à des campagnes de mobilisation, la sensibilisation des citoyens et la vente de produits issus du commerce équitable.
Via une démarche particulièrement exigeante, Solidar’Monde a une ambition de progression permanente, pour permettre aux producteurs, aux savoir-faire uniques et traditionnels, d’être les propres acteurs de leur développement :
• Développer l’économie : prix minimum garanti, préfinancement des commandes, prime pour des projets collectifs, engagement durable avec les producteurs et transparence de la chaîne de commercialisation.
• Protéger l’environnement : réduire l’empreinte écologique de la production, défendre la biodiversité.
• Défendre les droits sociaux et humains

Côté bio diversité, c’est le label Forest Garden qu’on retrouve chez plusieurs exposants de Natexpo. Permettant de certifier des produits forestiers issus d’exploitations respectant la biodiversité et l’équité sociale, ce label a été créé il y a une vingtaine d’années.

 

Guayapi s’attache à respecter les principes fondamentaux de la charte éthique de Forest Garden Products :
• Restaurer les écosystèmes d’origine tout en respectant les populations locales dans leur habitat d’origine, dans un environnement sain et ainsi préserver leur culture et leur savoir-faire traditionnels dans le cadre d’un commerce équitable.
• Promouvoir le renouvellement de la végétation des terres déboisées ou dégradées et augmenter la richesse et la biodiversité végétale et animale d’origine.
• Améliorer le rendement de la terre et réduire l’érosion par des moyens totalement naturels.
• Transformer la production chimique intensive des exploitations agricoles en une production naturelle et biologique.
• Valoriser les produits de terroirs des populations locales du monde entier à plus forte valeur économique ajoutée.
• Promouvoir et développer les connaissances sur le développement durable et la consommation citoyenne.
• Accompagner les producteurs pour atteindre ces objectifs ensemble.

Du côté d’Agro Sourcing, leurs noix de cajou sont issues de leurs filières labellisées “Forest Garden” au Sud du Vietnam. C’est l’une des 15 filières mises en place par Agro Sourcing sur les 5 continents. Elles permettent à des centaines de paysans de valoriser leurs produits sur le marché européen, avec tout ce que cela implique pour eux : augmentation de leurs revenus, préservation de leurs terres grâce à la conversion au bio, limitation de l’exode vers les grandes villes par le maintien d’une activité agricole rentable, sauvegarde de la biodiversité par le maintien d’une agriculture traditionnelle, etc…

Enfin, le label BIOPARTENAIRE® présent sur aujourd’hui plus de 400 produits présents en magasins bio et assimilés est né de l’association de différents pionniers de la bio en 2002 qui avait déjà une vision alternative du commerce et ne se retrouvait dans aucun des systèmes de contrôle du commerce équitable qu’ils considéraient comme insuffisants.
Le label BIOPARTENAIRE® s’est enrichi au cours des années pour aller vers une vision plus complète et un contrôle à toutes les étapes, confié à un organisme tiers afin de ne pas être juge et partie, alliant notions de commerce équitable, contractualisation, dialogue et responsabilité sociétale et environnementale des entreprises.

Le label BIOPARTENAIRE® participe à Natexpo sur un espace collectif regroupant une douzaine de marques adhérentes : la conserverie artisanale Champlat, les produits de boulangerie et confiserie Belledonne, les chocolatiers Kaoka ou L’Attelier, l’Huilerie Emile Noël, les boissons à base de thé Lokki, le distributeur de produits biologiques Ecoidées, l’importateur de matières premières Pronatec, les probiotiques Bio.K, le producteur de plantes aromatiques et médicinales Arcadie, les solutions olfactives d’Elixens et le spécialiste de la finance éthique La Nef.