EVERYTHING (or nearly everything) MUST CHANGE

We have had a real wake-up call which has refocused our values and “essentials” at the centre of our lives. It has forced us to rethink.
It has made us see how quickly nature reclaims its rights: we are now seeing more wildlife and birds back in towns and clear blue skies without aeroplane trails.

 

Live:
Put the enjoyment of being, rather than the enjoyment of having, back at the heart of our lives
.

This unique period in history has made us question our priorities. Where do we find happiness, joy and fulfilment? In being alive, in good health, in seeing our loved ones? Through being at one with nature? In consuming like there’s no tomorrow?

They can all co-exist, but perhaps at different levels.

We can make more meaningful purchases, commit to a “militant”, more “sustainable”, more modest and more authentic type of consumption.

Some voices are already talking about “sustainable marketing”.

 

Love:
Refocus consumption, concentrate on the living world

This “crisis” is an accelerator, a catalyst for movements already begun and established.

The local element is intensifying, beyond the promise of “made in France”. Because our dependency on Asia, and by extension on other countries, has been exposed, and even China has declared: “Consume Chinese, save your fatherland”.

It is reassuring to know that ingredients also come from small producers who make a living from it, from artisans (in food, cosmetics and fashion), as promoted by many young brands, or from the gardens or crops of large brands. Time to promote our plants and ancestral know-how (as opposed to that from the other side of the world). Naturally reducing our carbon impact too.

And help our regions and the people working in them to survive, thanks to short supply chains.  Brands are posting on instagram: #jaimemonproducteur (I love my producer)

The time has even come to reconsider the links between humans and nature and put them on an equal footing: “Renature” humans (the new mission of Rocher Group, now a Benefit Corporation). Respect the living world. Respect in general.

 

Moving towards the tipping point?

Some consumers are saying “it’s time to make better purchases” and are making the transition to organic, healthy and clean choices. They are making the choice to consume more authentically, to take up a genuine position.

In Europe and France, there has been a rise of consciousness over the past three years towards more consideration for the environment, and this is getting stronger still thanks to the generation of ‘Sustainable Natives’.

Experts claim that once the tipping point of 10% of positive and responsible consumption has been reached, the influence and knock-on effect will take place.

In beauty, “secure” choices, which were already present, have increased with the Covid-19 crisis: 84% of respondents said they wanted to buy from new brands and that they would give priority to a brand that was made in France (48%), eco-responsible (47%) and natural (44%)[1] .

 

So is it a “crisis”… or the start of a new era?

In lockdown, there was much talk about predictions (the main aim being to reassure). There will be more important learnings at the end of 2020 and 2021 on the practices that are here to stay, but we can already say that consuming locally and more healthily, helping each other out, practising solidarity, sharing, open source and resilience will be among them.

Being a responsible brand is also being transparent, sincere, stating one’s commitments, sticking to them and demonstrating them. Tomorrow, everything will be scrutinised, from sustainable extraction to packaging.
Being consistent is essential to rally a community and make it grow around the same causes. Large brands and small producers alike also need support, our support, your support, in this new network that is taking shape.

Some examples of Natexpo exhibitors’ brands and products are already illustrating this new world.

[1] My Beauty Community (1007 respondents, of which 69% aged 18-34 ), 10 May 2020

Download the full trend book

Pascale Brousse is decoding for you the major trends of 2020.

Green, clean and sustainable lifestyle expert for the past 20 years, Pascale Brousse founded Trend Sourcing in 2000.

 

Macro-Trend No. 1 
FOR THE LOVE OF THE LAND: ARTISANAL AND REGIONAL AUTHENTICITY

Macro-Trend No. 2
FOR A ZERO WASTE CIRCULAR ECONOMY:

Macro-Trend No. 3
FOR SUSTAINABLE, RADIANT AND HAPPY CONSUMPTION! 
THE PACKAGING, PROCESS & PRODUCT REVOLUTION

 

2019 Tendances

Scroll Up
Share via
Copy link

DE LA NECESSITE DE TOUT CHANGER (ou presque)

Nous avons vécu un véritable réveil-alarme (‘Wake Up Call’) qui a replacé nos valeurs et ‘essentiels’ au centre de nos vies et de nos modes de consommation.
Qui nous a forcé à les repenser. 
Qui nous a fait observer comment la nature reprend rapidement ses droits : des animaux et oiseaux davantage visibles en ville aux nuages reprenant leur rebond d’antan, dans un ciel bleu sans trainées d’avions.

 

Vivre :
Replacer le bonheur d’être, plutôt que le plaisir d’avoir, au cœur notre existence
.

Cette période inédite de l’histoire nous a questionné sur nos priorités. Où se situent le bonheur, la joie et l’épanouissement ? Est-ce le fait d’être vivant, en bonne santé, de voir ses proches ? D’être en lien avec la nature ? Est-ce le fait de consommer à tout va ?

Cela ne s’oppose pas mais peut être placé à des niveaux différents.

Pour mettre encore plus de sens dans nos achats, pour nous engager dans une ‘consommation militante’, plus ‘raisonnée’, plus sobre, authentique.

Certains parlent déjà de ‘marketing raisonné’.

 

Aimer :
Recadrer la consommation, se recentrer sur le vivant

Cette ‘crise’ est un accélérateur, un catalyseur de mouvements déjà initiés et connus.

L’aspect local se renforce, au-delà de la promesse ‘made in France’. Car notre dépendance à l’Asie et par extension à d’autres pays a été mise au grand jour, et même la Chine de proclamer : ‘Consommer Chinois, sauver votre patrie’.

Il est plus que rassurant de savoir que les ingrédients viennent aussi de petits producteurs qui en vivent, d’artisans (en alimentaire, cosmétique, mode), comme le mettent en avant de nombreuses jeunes marques, de jardins ou cultures de grandes marques. Valorisation de notre flore, notre savoir-faire ancestral (vs bout du monde). Et forcément à moindre impact carbone.

Faire vivre nos régions, les personnes qui y travaillent (réseau vente directe), en circuit court. Les marques postent sur instagram : #jaimemonproducteur

Il est même désormais question de repenser les liens entre humains et nature, et de les mettre sur un plan d’égalité : ‘Renaturer’ l’homme (la nouvelle mission du Groupe Rocher, devenue Entreprise à mission). De respecter le Vivant. Respect de manière générale.

 

Vers le point de bascule ?

Certains consommateurs disent : ‘c’est le moment d’acheter mieux’ et font la transition vers le bio, le sain, et le ‘clean’. Ils font le choix d’une consommation plus authentique, d’avoir une vraie posture.

En Europe et en France, la montée des consciences vers un meilleur respect de l’environnement est avérée depuis 3 ans et se renforcera encore grâce à la génération des ‘Sustainable Natives’.

Et les experts d’affirmer qu’une fois le point de bascule des 10% atteint d’une consommation vertueuse et responsable, l’effet d’influence et d’entraînement s’opérera.

En beauté, les choix « sécuritaires », déjà présents avant, sont amplifiés par la crise Covid19 : 84% des répondantes déclarent vouloir acheter de nouvelles marques et elles choisiront en priorité une marque made in France (48%), éco-responsable (47%) et naturelle (44%)[1] .

 

Alors ‘crise’… ou début d’une nouvelle ère ?

De nombreuses prises de parole ont eu lieu pendant le confinement sur des prédictions (qui avaient surtout valeur à se rassurer). Les grands enseignements sur les pratiques qui resteront pourront davantage être faits fin 2020 et 2021. Mais déjà nous pouvons dire que consommer local, plus sain, pratiquer l’entraide, la solidarité, le partage, l’open source, la résilience resteront.

Être une marque responsable c’est aussi être transparent, sincère, indiquer ses engagements, s’y tenir, les montrer. Car demain, tout sera scruté, de l’extraction verte au packaging.
Être cohérent… pour rallier une communauté et la faire grandir autour de mêmes causes. Car les (grandes) marques et (petits) producteurs ont aussi besoin de ce soutien, de notre soutien, de votre soutien, dans ce nouveau maillage qui se dessine.

Certains exemples de marques et de produits des exposants Natexpo illustrent déjà ce nouveau monde.

[1] My Beauty Community (1007 répondants dont 69% & 18-34 ans) le 10 mai 2020

Téléchargez le cahier de tendances complet

Pascale Brousse décode pour Natexpo les tendances clés de l’année.

Experte en green, clean et sustainable lifestyle depuis 20 ans, Pascale Brousse a fondé Trend Sourcing en 2000.

Découvrez les macro-tendances et micro-tendances de Natexpo 2020 :

Macro-Tendance n°1
Pour l’amour de la terre et du terroir :
L’authenticité artisanale et régionale

Macro-Tendance n°2
Pour une économie circulaire, zéro déchet : la révolution packaging, processus & produit

Macro-Tendance n°3
Pour une consommation raisonnée, rayonnante et joyeuse !

 

Archives : les Tendances 2019

Défiler vers le haut
Share via
Copy link