The dietary supplement market in figures

In 2020, the sector brings together around 50 manufacturers of health food products and dietary supplements for a range of purposes: slimming, skin care, toning, etc., as well as ingredients making up the composition of these products.

In tune with consumers’ wish for natural beauty and wellness, dietary supplements in France constitute a market worth 1.9 billion euros in 2019 and experienced growth of 1.3%. This vitality translates on the ground at Natexpo with increased participation by suppliers.

The dietary supplements market is dominated by health concerns, in particular, three indications account for a large proportion of the market. Together, sleep/stress, digestion and vitality account for 51% of sales in pharmacies, 41% of sales in supermarkets and hypermarkets and 35% of sales in drugstores.

46% of French people have already consumed dietary supplements. For these consumers, dietary supplements are a natural solution for maintaining their health and avoiding taking medicine when not necessary. Indeed, the naturalness of the products (40%), the desire to limit their consumption of medicine (38%), and the desire to maintain their health (37%) emerge as the main motivations of consumers.

Source: Synadiet.


Retail channels

  • 51% in chemists
  • 17% direct selling / mail order
  • 15% in organic or health food shops
  • 11% in mass retail
  • 6% in drugstores


Main market segments in pharmacies

  • Stress, mood, sleep
  • Digestion
  • Joints


The Dietary Supplements Feature Area

The French dietary supplement association, Synadiet, present at NATEXPO 2020, will be hosting the Dietary Supplements Forum. This information area covers regulatory aspects together with trends in the dietary supplements market, the latest on-trend ingredients and precautions for the use of essential oils.

As a venue for innovation and information, it allows buyers and sellers in the sector to develop their business and skills. Through mini-lectures, this area provides advice, information and training for visitors on various subjects such as nutritional advice for people with special diets (vegetarians, vegans, sportsmen and women, senior citizens, mothers-to-be, calorie-controlled or gluten-free diets, etc.), plants for everyday well-being, specific regulations for plant-based food supplements, etc.

 

Find out more on the Dietary Supplements Feature Area

 

 

Scroll Up
Share via
Copy link

Vous proposez des compléments alimentaires? Venez exposer à Natexpo ! – Téléchargez la présentation dédiée

Le marché des compléments alimentaires en chiffres

En 2020, le pôle réunit une cinquantaine de sociétés de fabrication de produits diététiques et de compléments alimentaires : produits de régime, pour la peau, le tonus, etc., ainsi que les ingrédients entrant dans la composition de ces produits. En phase avec les envies de beauté au naturel et de bien-être des consommateurs, les compléments alimentaires en France représentent un marché de 1,9 milliards d’euros en 2019 qui affiche 1,3% de croissance. Un dynamisme qui se concrétise à Natexpo avec une participation en hausse de ces fournisseurs.

Le marché des compléments alimentaires fait la part belle aux indications de santé, en particulier, trois indications concentrent une grande partie du marché. À elles trois, le sommeil/stress, la digestion, et la vitalité concentrent en effet 51 % des ventes en pharmacie, 41 % des ventes en GMS, et 35 % des ventes en parapharmacie.

46% des Français ont déjà consommé des compléments alimentaires qui constituent une solution naturelle pour entretenir leur santé et éviter de prendre des médicaments lorsque ce n’est pas nécessaire. En effet, la naturalité des produits (40 %), la volonté de limiter sa consommation de médicament (38 %), et le souhait d’entretenir sa santé (37 %) ressortent comme les principales motivations des consommateurs.

Source : Synadiet.


Les canaux de distribution

  • 51% en pharmacie
  • 17% en ventes directes / VPC
  • 15% en magasins bio/diététique
  • 11% en GMS
  • 6% en parapharmacie

Les principaux segments de marché en pharmacie

  • Stress, humeur, sommeil
  • Digestion
  • Articulations

Le Forum Compléments Alimentaires

Le syndicat national des compléments alimentaires, Synadiet, présent à NATEXPO 2020, animera le Forum des Compléments alimentaires. Cet espace d’information aborde aussi bien les aspects réglementaires que les tendances du marché des compléments alimentaires, les ingrédients à la mode ou encore les précautions d’emploi des huiles essentielles.

Lieu d’innovation et d’information, il permet aux acheteurs et vendeurs du secteur de développer leur business et leurs compétences.

À travers des mini-conférences, cet espace s’appuie sur le conseil, l’information et la formation des visiteurs sur des sujets divers tels que les conseils nutritionnels à apporter aux personnes ayant des régimes alimentaires particuliers (végétariens, végétaliens, sportifs, seniors, femmes enceintes, régimes amincissants ou sans gluten…), les plantes à utiliser pour le bien-être au quotidien, la réglementation spécifique aux compléments alimentaires à base de plantes…

En savoir plus sur Le Forum Compléments Alimentaires

Défiler vers le haut
Share via
Copy link