B2B2C firms in the organic chain are forever on the lookout for innovative ideas. An array of areas exist with room for progress in this fast-developing sector: circularity, technological innovation, zero waste, differentiating labels, etc.

Founded in 2018, Natexpo’s Le Lab brings together start-ups that excel in the circular economy and technological innovation. At the 2019 show, around 50 companies will each exhibit their concept and be offered the opportunity to ‘pitch’ what they have developed.

This dialogue will also be productive, as visitors and exhibitors to the show will be invited to give a mark to the performance of each of the Le Lab participants, leading to the award of a prize at the end of the exhibition.

Here’s a closer look at several of them.

©Nicolas Rodet

 

Seeking to reduce waste and promote sustainable consumption

The big winner at the last show and back again this year, Pepino is a start-up from Nice whose founders have launched an anti-waste mobile app. The idea is to enable farmers to sell on any non-standard (wrong size, slightly damaged, excess quantity) fruit and vegetables through direct channels to restaurants, processing companies, caterers, charities or even consumers. This is a brilliant idea to address an absurd situation: in France, every year, ten million tonnes of food are thrown away. Thanks to Pepino, 7.7 tonnes of fruit and vegetables have already been salvaged.

©Nicolas Rodet

“Last year, we received some very positive feedback. Le Lab enabled us to validate the utility of our innovation to the sector’s stakeholders,” explains Enzo Giusti, the founder. “We strongly believe that whatever the product and whatever its condition, it has value for an actor in the food chain on a local level.” This second participation in Le Lab will offer the firm a chance to dialogue with all the players in the food chain – potential users of the app – and ascertain their needs more precisely.

Aiming to achieve durability is also a way of acting responsibly for the planet and for change! The label Longtime®, launched by the company Ethikis, is the first to provide information about the durability of a common consumer good and its repairability. The consumer knows that an article meets precise quality criteria and that they are getting justified value for money. Whether it’s household appliances, home entertainment, leisure equipment or tools, the consumer can make their choice with a clear conscience. “The first two products to receive the label will be presented at Natexpo,” explains Elsa Lomont, the co-founder of the label. “We want to offer a platform to manufacturers that support this way of working and promote responsible consumerism through this practical solution.”

©Nicolas Rodet

Having a meal delivered and then throwing away the packaging is something that everyone has done at some point. But when this happens in collective catering, the impact is much greater! This is what let to the ingenious idea of Eat and Back which had designed a lunchbox with a digital deposit payment. No need for money up front: simply order your meal from the restaurant in its lunchbox (deposit click) and when it is brought back, the deposit is returned. The box is then washed and reused. Boxes are made in Tourcoing in the north of France from sustainable bioplastic, which is long-lasting, reusable and fully-recyclable. They come in two sizes – 500 and 800 ml – and can be easily stacked and assembled into units to make up a full meal order.

Already a participant at last year’s show, Celine Scavennec, the co-founder of the concept, is returning this year to Le Lab, which she describes as “a place to have interesting meetings with other start-ups and which gives us some good visibility.” And while the catering professionals currently using Eat and Back lunchboxes for their meal deliveries are mainly based in the Hauts de France region and Belgium, a new adventure will begin in September with the university catering organisation CROUS in Grenoble.

©Gilles Rolle

Making use of by-products from human food

A lot of by-products from the food industry ends up going to waste. When Marie Kerouedan, an expert in sustainable food channels, realised during a brewing course that malt residue (called spent grain) is disposed of after the brewing phase, she decided to do something with them!

She teamed up with Nathalie Golliet, a culinary communications expert, to launch a business making crackers from the by-products of organic beer, marketed under the brand name Résurrection, committed to organic and local trade. Today, half a tonne of spent grain is recycled every month! With their natural curiosity and always on the lookout for new ideas, the founders develop new recipes according to what they uncover, as illustrated by a new formula made from apple pulp. The company, which won the Natexbio Challenge competition, wished to exhibit at Le Lab to “present [their] innovation. We are the first firm to process by-products from human food in the form of crackers,” adds Nathalie. And this idea has led to plenty of others… sprouting up!

Scroll Up

 

 

Share via
Copy link
#Natexpo2019

Les acteurs B2B2C de la chaîne de la bio sont à l’affût des innovations. Économie circulaire, innovation technologique, zéro déchet, labellisation différenciante… Les domaines ne manquent pas pour faire avancer le secteur, en forte expansion.

Créé en 2018, le Lab de Natexpo rassemble des starts-up de l’économie circulaire et des éco-innovations technologiques. En 2019, une cinquantaine de sociétés exposeront leur concept et auront l’occasion de pitcher leur démarche.

Un échange fructueux, car les visiteurs et les autres exposants du salon seront invités à noter les prestations de chaque exposant du Lab et le grand gagnant sera désigné à la fin du salon.

Zoom sur quelques-uns d’entre eux !

©Nicolas Rodet

Aller vers moins de gaspillage et vers une consommation durable

Grand gagnant de l’année dernière et de retour cette année, Pepino est une start-up niçoise qui a lancé une application mobile anti-gaspillage. L’idée : permettre aux agriculteurs d’écouler en circuit court, vers des restaurateurs, transformateurs, traiteurs, associations ou même des particuliers, leurs fruits et légumes « hors norme » : pas à la bonne taille, un peu abîmés, trop nombreux, etc… Une idée géniale pour enrayer ce qui ressemble à une aberration : en France, chaque année, 10 millions de tonnes de nourriture sont jetées à la poubelle… Grâce à Pepino, 7,7 tonnes de fruits et de légumes ont déjà été sauvés !

©Nicolas Rodet

« L’année dernière, nous avons reçu un très bon accueil. Le Lab nous a permis de confirmer l’intérêt de notre innovation pour les acteurs du secteur » explique Enzo Giusti, le fondateur, « nous sommes convaincus que quel que soit le produit, quel que soit son état, il a de la valeur pour un acteur de la filière alimentaire au niveau local ». Sa deuxième participation au Lab permettra d’échanger avec tous les acteurs de la filière alimentaire – les utilisateurs potentiels de cette appli – et de mieux connaître leurs besoins.

Faire le choix de la durabilité, c’est faire du bien à la planète et être acteur du changement ! Le label Longtime®, mis en place par la société Ethikis, est ainsi le premier à informer sur la durabilité d’un produit de consommation courante et sa réparabilité. Le consommateur sait qu’un article répond ainsi à des critères précis de qualité et que son rapport qualité/prix est justifié. Appareils domestiques, multimédia, matériel de loisir, outillage… Le consommateur fait son choix en toute conscience ! « Les deux premiers produits labellisés seront présentés sur le salon Natexpo » explique Elsa Lomont, cofondatrice du label, « nous voulons offrir une visibilité aux fabricants engagés dans cette démarche et promouvoir une consommation responsable grâce à cet outil pragmatique ».

©Nicolas Rodet

Se faire livrer un repas puis jeter l’emballage, qui ne l’a pas fait ? Mais lorsque cette action concerne un usage collectif, cela prend des proportions toutes autres ! D’où la très ingénieuse idée de Eat and Back, qui a conçu une lunchbox consignée de façon numérique ! Mais sans avancer l’argent : on commande au restaurant son repas dans la lunchbox (clic consigne) et lorsqu’on la ramène, on déconsigne ! La box est ensuite lavée et réutilisée. Fabriquée à Tourcoing, la box est fabriquée en bioplastique durable, réutilisable et recyclable à 100 %. De taille variable (500 ou 800 ml), superposables et complètement modulables, les box s’empilent facilement.

Déjà présente l’année dernière, Céline Scavennec – cofondatrice du concept – revient cette année sur le Lab, « un lieu de rencontres intéressantes avec les autres start-ups et qui apporte une certaine visibilité ». Si pour l’instant les professionnels de la restauration qui proposent la livraison des plateaux repas dans les lunchbox Eat And Back sont principalement situés dans les Hauts de France et la Belgique, dès septembre débute une nouvelle aventure avec le CROUS de Grenoble !

©Gilles Rolle

Valoriser les co-produits issus de l’alimentation humaine

Il existe dans l’industrie agro-alimentaire nombre de co-produits qui se retrouvent à la poubelle. Lorsque Marie Kerouedan, experte sur les filières alimentaires durables, réalise lors d’un stage dans une brasserie que les résidus du malt (appelé drêches) sont jetés après la phase de brassage, elle décide d’en faire quelque chose !

Elle lance alors avec Nathalie Golliet, spécialiste en communication culinaire, une activité de crackers à base de résidus de bière bio – voilà comment est née la marque Résurrection, engagée dans le bio et le local. Aujourd’hui, ½ tonne de drêche est recyclée chaque mois ! Curieuses et à l’affût, les deux fondatrices développent de nouvelles recettes en fonction de leurs trouvailles, comme celle réalisée à partir de marc de pomme. La société, qui a remporté le concours Natexbio Challenge, a souhaité être présente sur le Lab pour « présenter leur innovation. Nous sommes les premiers à avoir transformer des co-produits de l’alimentation humaine sous forme de crackers » souligne Nathalie. Une idée qui en a déjà fait germer d’autres…

 

 

Share via
#Natexpo2019
Mentions légales et données personnelles