The organic cosmetics market in figures

With the pandemic, naturalness and the return to more diligent disinfection has become a priority. In step with consumers’ desire for natural beauty and wellness, natural cosmetics are displaying solid growth. Product ranges have expanded, distribution has broadened and consumers have confirmed their desire for more responsible products. The organic and natural cosmetics market is booming worldwide and in France. Proof of this dynamism, more than 110 exhibitors have already confirmed their participation in Natexpo 2022, i.e. 20% more than in 2020.

The organic cosmetics market in data

France, the world’s third largest market for organic and natural cosmetics behind the United States and Germany, is at the heart of this boom. In 2019, the French market recorded a record turnover of 900 million euros, including 533 million euros for Cosmebio-labeled brands (+26% vs. 2018), chosen in priority by 70% of consumers.

And the trend shows no signs of slowing down: according to estimates, European sales are expected to exceed 5 billion euros by 2023.[1]

Driven by a desire to consume in a more responsible way, French people are looking for products that are healthy for themselves, and for the environnement as well. The sector recruited +60% of buyers between 2016 and 2020 : today 1 in 2 French  people regularly buy organic cosmetics.

[1] Source : Cosmébio® & Ecovia Intelligence 2019

Market offering breakdown

In France, organic and natural cosmetics are sold through a range of retail channels in the following proportions.

  • 37% in mass retail
  • 21% in organic shops
  • 13% in drugstores and chemists

Purchases of organic and natural cosmetics in France mainly concern care products. Buyers are looking for organic especially for the following :

  • 31% of face care
  • 24% of hair care
  • 24% of body care

Purchases of organic cosmetics are following the new trends : consumers are moving towards zero waste products, local origin and reusable or refillable packaging. The list of ingredients, which as to be as natural as possible, has also come under the microscope and is now the first choice criterion (for 46% of consumers vs. 34% in 2016) even before the organic label (for 31% of consumers vs. 42% in 2106)

Hygiene has rarely been so much at the heart of concerns as today with the Covid-19. At the same time, French people are increasingly looking for products that are healthy for them and for the environment. A desire to consume more responsibly, which can be found thanks to the great diversity of new products presented by French and international exhibitors present in the cosmetics and hygiene area.

Source: Cosmebio.


Product categories on show in this sector

    • Body creams, gels and milk
    • Manicure, make-up, pedicure and hair removal products
    • Solid cosmetics
    • Soaps, shampoos, perfumes, etc.


The Cosmetics Innovations Forum

CosmebioDiscover the new products and niche brands on the natural and organic cosmetics market. On its space, Cosmebio® will be organising a series of special events to show visitors all the latest on-trend and innovative products. Throughout the exhibition, you will have the opportunity to test products, listen to brands as they present their new releases, and be pampered.

More information about the Cosmetics Innovations Forum

 

Share via
Copy link

femme douche

Vous proposez des cosmétiques certifiés? Venez exposer à Natexpo ! – Téléchargez la présentation dédiée

 

En 2020, avec la pandémie, la naturalité et le retour à une désinfection plus assidue est devenue une priorité. En phase avec les envies de beauté au naturel et de bien-être des consommateurs, les cosmétiques bio enregistrent de belles performances. Les gammes se sont étoffées, la distribution s’est élargie et les consommateurs ont confirmé cette envie de produits plus responsables. Le marché de la cosmétique bio et naturelle s’enracine durablement et est en plein essor dans le monde et en France. Preuve de ce dynamisme, sur le salon cette année, plus de 110 exposants français et internationaux ont d’ores et déjà confirmé leur participation, soit 10% de plus qu’en 2019.

Le marché des cosmétiques biologiques en chiffres

La France, 3e marché mondial de la cosmétique bio et naturelle derrière les États-Unis et l’Allemagne, figure au cœur de cette envolée. En 2019, le marché français a enregistré un chiffre d’affaires record de 900 millions d’euros, dont 533 millions € pour les marques labellisées Cosmebio (+26% vs. 2018), choisies en priorité par 70% des consommateurs.

Poussé par une envie de consommer plus responsable, les Français sont en quête de produits sains pour eux et pour l’environnement. Le secteur a recruté +60% d’acheteurs entre 2016 et 2020 : aujourd’hui 1 Français sur 2 achète régulièrement des cosmétiques bio.

Source : Cosmébio® et Ecovia Intelligence 2019


Répartition de l’offre

En France, les produits cosmétiques bio et naturels empruntent différents circuits de distribution. 45% des premiers achats de cosmétique bio effectués en GMS (vs. 3,7% pour le secteur bio en général en GMS)

Ils sont vendus à :

  • 37% en GMS
  • 21% en magasins spécialisés bio
  • 13% en para-pharmacies et pharmacies

Les achats de produits cosmétiques bio et naturels sont majoritairement représentés en France par des produits de soin. Les acheteurs sont à la recherche de bio principalement pour :

  • 31% des soins visage
  • 24% de produits capillaires
  • 24% de produits d’hygiène

Les motivations d’achat en cosmétiques suivent les nouvelles tendances du secteur bio : les consommateurs s’orientent vers des produits zéro déchet, d’origine locale et des packaging réutilisable ou rechargeable… La liste des ingrédients, qui se doit d’être la plus naturelle possible, est également passée à la loupe et devient désormais le 1er critère de choix (46 % contre 34 % en 2016), avant même le label bio (31 % contre 42 % en 2016). 

L’hygiène n’a rarement été autant au coeur des préoccupations qu’aujourd’hui avec le Covid-19 et parallèlement, les Français sont de plus en plus en quête de produits sains pour eux et pour l’environnement. Une envie de consommer plus responsable, et qui pourra se retrouver grâce à la grande diversité de nouveaux produits présentés par les exposants français et internationaux présents sur le pôle cosmétiques et hygiène.

Source : Cosmebio et Senseva,


Catégories de produits présents sur le pôle

    • Crèmes, gels, huiles et laits corporels
    • Produits de manucure, maquillage, pédicure rasage
    • Cosmétiques solides
    • Savons, shampoings, parfums…


Le Forum Innovations Cosmétiques

Cosmebio

Lieu d’information, de conseil et de formation, le forum regroupe les chiffres du marché de la cosmétique bio ainsi que les nouvelles réglementations et tendances de l’année. Cosmébio propose également sur son espace des animations réalisées autour des innovations cosmétiques des exposants, de découvrir les nouveautés au sein d’un testing bar et les marques niches de cosmétiques naturels et bio…

En savoir plus sur le Forum Innovations Cosmétiques

Défiler vers le haut
Share via
Copy link