The new normal

Society and the planet were transformed during the pandemic, with a search for meaning pervading our lives.

During this unprecedented period, our relationship to the world, nature, work and home changed. For some, such as people who decided to change where they live or work, this change was definitive.

The very notion of normality raises questions. Most people are waiting to get back to “normal”, while others are hoping for profound changes in society. A quarter of French people believe, however, that life will never return to normal[i]. But this weariness that has taken over the French seems to be gradually disappearing as we come out of the ‘crisis’ and places start to reopen. Will we see a return to our previous lives? Maybe just on the surface.

The Covid-19 pandemic and successive lockdowns have changed our priorities, but without changing their essence. At the height of the crisis, French people put the epidemic at the top of their concerns (76%), followed by the health system (42%) and global warming (33%)[ii].

The two movements shaping society, which are the quest for good health and ecology, are still very much alive, and these are the driving forces of the organic sector.

In this paradigm, certain trends came to a halt, while others made progress. Although concerns regarding plastic temporarily decreased, surpassed by those for safety, the organic sector continues to advocate zero-waste (and therefore almost zero plastic). Homemade recipes, fresh, organic and local foods have gained in popularity like never before. Home deliveries rocketed, but there is no such thing as all-round virtuous behaviour.

Ultimately, this pandemic will have highlighted the need to return to a certain food sovereignty in towns and the countryside. Another positive factor is the need to be better connected to others and to nature, giving rise to solidarity, empathy and awareness that could be the foundations of a new society.

Yes, this crisis has created another and possible normality: the ecological self, sharing and preservation of living beings.

Pascale Brousse is decoding for you the major trends of 2021.

Green, clean and sustainable lifestyle expert for the past 20 years, Pascale Brousse founded Trend Sourcing in 2000.

Discover Natexpo’s 2021 Trends :

Macro-Trend No. 1 
COVID-19 AND A NEW ECOLOGICAL SELF

Macro-Trend No. 2
GASTRONOMIC COUNTER-CULTURES

Macro-Trend No. 3
NEW FORMS OF NATURAL

Macro-Trend No. 4
MODERN AND MINIMALIST

Download the full Trend Book

 

[i] Study on The French and the Covid-19 epidemic, Vague 39, Elabe BFM Direct, 2021
[ii] Barometer by the Datacovid association and Ipsos, April 2020

 

Rediscover Natexpo’s 2020 Trends Book

 

Share via
Copy link

Le nouveau normal

La société et la planète ont été transformées pendant la pandémie. La quête de sens a infusé nos vies.

Durant cette période inédite, le rapport au monde, à la nature, au travail et au foyer a été modifié. Temporairement ou définitivement, pour ceux qui ont choisi de changer de lieu de vie ou de métier, par exemple.

La notion même de la normalité pose question. Une majorité de personnes attendent un retour à la ‘normale’, tandis que d’autres souhaitent de profondes mutations sociétales. Un Français sur quatre considère néanmoins qu’on ne retrouvera jamais une vie normale[i]. Mais cette lassitude qui a envahi les français semble s’estomper au fur et à mesure que la sortie de ‘crise’ et la réouverture des lieux progressent…pour un retour à notre vie d’avant ? Peut être juste en surface.

Le Covid-19 et les confinements successifs ont changé la hiérarchisation de nos priorités, mais sans les modifier elles-mêmes. Au plus fort de la crise, les Français plaçaient bien sûr l’épidémie seule en tête de leurs préoccupations (76 %), suivis par le système de santé (42 %) et le réchauffement climatique (33 %)[ii].

Les deux mouvements structurants de la société n’ont donc pas été masqués : la quête de santé et la recherche d’écologie, qui sont bien sûr les deux forces motrices de la bio.

Dans ce paradigme, certaines tendances ont été stoppées, d’autres ont progressé. Si les préoccupations relatives au plastique ont faibli temporairement pour maximiser la sécurité, il est indéniable que la bio continue de prôner le zéro gâchis et le zéro déchet (donc le quasi zéro plastique). Le goût du faire soi-même (D.I.Y), en frais, en bio et en local est revenu plus que jamais. Même si les livraisons à domicile ont explosé – le comportement tout vertueux n’existe pas.

Au final, cette pandémie aura mis en lumière la nécessité de retrouver une certaine souveraineté alimentaire, dans les villes et dans les campagnes. En positif également, le besoin d’être mieux relié aux autres et à la nature, donnant naissance à une solidarité, une empathie et une conscience qui pourraient être les bases d’une nouvelle société.

Oui cette crise a été créatrice d’une autre et possible normalité : l’écologie de soi, le partage et la préservation du vivant.

Pascale Brousse décode pour Natexpo les tendances clés de l’année.

Experte en green, clean et sustainable lifestyle depuis 20 ans, Pascale Brousse a fondé Trend Sourcing en 2000.

Découvrez les macro-tendances et micro-tendances de Natexpo 2021 :

Macro-Tendance n°1 
COVID-19, une nouvelle écologie de soi

Macro-Tendance n°2 
Les contre-cultures gastronomiques

Macro-Tendance n°3 
Les natures inédites

Macro-Tendance n°4
Les minimalismes modernes

Téléchargez le Journal des Tendances 2021

 

[i] Etude Les Français et l’épidémie de Covid-19, Vague 39, Elabe BFM Direct, 2021
[ii] Baromètre par l’association Datacovid et l’institut Ipsos, Avril 2020

 

Redécouvrez le cahier de tendances Natexpo 2020

Share via
Copy link