The vegan product market has experienced double-digit growth in recent years (+24%, 380 million euros in 2018, in French supermarkets, according to Xerfi), but it took time to take off in France, unlike in the UK, where the Vegan Society was established in 1945, or other more vegan-friendly European countries. Today, the trend is gaining ground and products are more easily identifiable on shop shelves thanks to different labels.

This vegan movement, which is still minor in economic terms and lagging far behind the organic market, but on a par with the gluten-free segment, is nurtured by growing consumer awareness. Consumers are concerned about the quality of what they ingest; they are questioning certain marketing diktats which have been taken for granted for a long time (such as the importance of cow’s milk or beef); they are refusing to let animals suffer to provide them food and they are concerned about the ecological impact of animal breeding. Health scandals have definitely fed this trend.

Natexpo 2019 wants to spotlight this movement and is proposing several ways to discover the products and innovations of this sector, which is developing strongly in France and internationally: a vegan-themed trail consisting of over 200 exhibitors, mini-talks, themed cooking workshops, etc.

Veganism is catching on and getting its message across with flair!

 

Innovative food products at Natexpo

Innovations in savoury vegan products

The “Spécial Matin Douceur” toasted crackers by Le Pain des Fleurs (Ekibio) combine crunchiness, a rich taste and nutritional value. Made with rice flour, cornflour and tigernut flour, they have no added sugar, and are fat and allergen-free.

 

As for the light and crispy “Croq’Avoine” by Pur Aliment (Plural), they are gluten-free, rich in fibre and protein.

 

 

Babelicot uses the surplus produced by market gardeners for zero waste, resulting in original and tasty products. For example, green tomato chutney (made from winter tomatoes that cannot ripen) is seasoned with a clever blend of home-made spices.

In the Grocery Products category of the Natexpo Awards, Biofuture’s Incredible Ketchup by Quintesens won the Gold Award. Created in Provence with Marmande tomatoes, carrots and beetroot, it has three times less sugar than classic ketchup. It’s good, it’s organic and it’s authentic!

The Belgian company, Future Foods, makes soya spreads that are plant-based, lactose-free and gluten-free and come in four different recipes. Based on cashew nuts, almonds and natural ingredients, they come in natural, yellow (mango & chilli), green (cucumber & chive) or purple (cranberry, cinnamon & star anise).

For those who love meaty flavours and who want to change their diet, the vegan duck by the German Lord of Tofu will be a replacement for duck on festive occasions. It’s spicy, and its texture and taste are equivalent to meat.

 

In terms of sauce, the Belgian Lima proposes a soy sauce smoked with Japanese cherry wood. As for the vegan mayonnaise by Accent bio, it is made with rice flour.

 

 

Inventive plant-based oils

To provide DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) in a vegan product, the Emile Noël group has developed an oil that combines organic deodorised rapeseed oil, organic deodorised sunflower oil and seaweed oil (oil extracted from the micro-algae Schizochytrium sp.), deodorised sunflower oil, extract rich in tocopherols (E306). 

Olive-coconut oil by L’Huilerie Vigean can be used hot or cold and contains 70% olive oil and 30% coconut oil. Combining solid oil and liquid oil, it does not have a dephasing period.

 

 

Vegan snacks for appetizers

Airchips Nutrition have invented crisps rich in protein, without oil or frying. They are vegan, gluten-free and allergen-free and contain yellow peas and sunflower.  A great innovation in the healthy snacking sector!

 

The vegan puffed split peas by Bean You have 60% less fat than their peanut-based counterparts. The recipe is completed with carrot, cumin and hemp seeds. La pâtisserie des Flandres has developed tasty wafers with toasted pumpkin seeds and poppy seeds for an original snack alternative.

Still in the healthy snacking line, Beendhi has launched biscuits made from chick peas, sesame seeds and pumpkin seeds full of Eastern flavours. They are gluten-free, contain four times less salt that conventional appetizer snacks and have an original flavour! They can be bought bulk in 5 kg.

The new lentil crackers by the Belgian Lima, rich in fibre and protein (22%), are suitable for a vegan diet, as are the innovative corn crackers by Altiplans. Made with quinoa and leguminous plants, they have the Vegan Society label. With just 22 kcal per cracker, they are a healthy snack.

The Vegan Society

The Vegan Society was founded in 1944 by Donald Watson, a British national. For him, “veganism shall mean the doctrine that man should live without exploiting animals”, for ethical and health reasons. He thus invented the word “vegan”, taking the first and last letters of “vegetarian”.

The Vegan® logo certifies that the product complies with the standards of the Vegan Society and does not contain any animal-based products, sub-products or by-products. Naturally, no animal testing is carried out.

 

Vegan, but indulgent!

The organic and gluten-free oat, hazelnut and chocolate cookies by ABCD Nutrition contain hazelnut paste and soft chocolate chips. They are rich in rolled oats, for maximum taste.

Baramel has created new cookies made of buckwheat and chocolate chips which are vegan and gluten-free. They are available in bulk! Les Boudines, based in Belgium, have developed new almond/raspberry biscuits (gluten-free, milk-free and egg-free recipe).

What could be healthier than a chocolate spread made of two ingredients – toasted hazelnuts and chocolate chips made from 60% cocoa? Go Nuts proposes a no-added fat and lactose-free alternative to traditional chocolate spreads. The jam by Maison du coco adopts the same strategy: two ingredients (organic coconut cream and caramel). Its glycaemic index is low. 

The spread by Hoope contains spirulina. Result: 35% less sugar, more protein and a product naturally rich in vitamins and minerals thanks to micro-algae.

 

To replace sugar in recipes, Kinako by Aromandise is a condiment based on roasted soya. It is rich in protein, without added sugar, and has a delicious hazelnut or toasted peanut flavour. It can also be used in savoury recipes.

To make energy balls for athletes, Mondial Uberti’s has invented healthy preparations based on oilseed plants and dried fruits. With no added sugar!

 

Fresh plant-based foods

Tossolia proposes curry and coconut mince. It is made with tofu and plant proteins, accompanied with curry and coconut milk. A healthy alternative for vegetarians, vegans and flexitarians!

 

Morice has developed recipes using Camargue rice, such as vegetal ice cream made with rice cream. Creamy, but with less fat!

How about a dessert without any of the 14 most common allergens and gluten-free too? Meet the Veggine Lemon Meringue Tart (TADH). It comes in a dessert jar and contains lemon cream, chunks of crumble and Italian meringue. It won the Silver Natexpo Award in the Fresh Products category!

 

Talks to explain veganism

Cookery workshop: veganism by Fabien Borgel

Chefs will be expressing their talent at the cookery workshops, which open onto the show’s aisles. They are the creators of authentic and tasty dishes; they are artists of flavour, notably using new ingredients presented at the show. Fabien Borgel, chef of the restaurant “42 degrés”, which proposes raw and vegan cuisine, will be enhancing vegan flavours!

Natexpo talks and the Natexbio forum will also cover the theme of veganism. They will provide information on different subjects related to the organic market, as well as vegan nutrition and trends. On Tuesday 22nd October, from 2pm to 3pm, Hélène Modrejewski, founder of Vegan France Interpro, and Florence Dusseaux, will present the vegan market.

Vegan France Interpro, partner of the show, is a French association for the promotion and economic development of vegan alternatives. It has over 120 French member companies. With a dual purpose of representation and promotion, Vegan France Interpro creates links between professionals and helps to increase their visibility.

Veganism will also be covered at the Organic Trends Forum, organised in partnership with Bio-Linéaires. These mini-conferences, which take the form of discussions between professionals, will cover emerging consumption trends, including veganism.

Scroll Up

 

 

Share via
Copy link

Connaissant depuis quelques années une croissance à deux chiffres, le marché de produits vegan (+24%, 380 millions d’euros en 2018, dans les GMS françaises, selon Xerfi) a mis du temps à percer en France, à contrario de l’Angleterre où la Vegan Society a pris ses quartiers dès 1945 ou d’autres pays d’Europe plus vegan-friendly. Aujourd’hui la tendance gagne du terrain et s’affiche plus lisiblement sur les rayons grâce aux différents labels.

Certes encore mineur sur le marché en terme économique, encore loin derrière le marché de la bio mais désormais équivalent à celui du sans gluten, ce mouvement vegan se nourrit d’une prise de conscience grandissante des consommateurs. A la fois sur l’importance de la qualité de ce que nous ingérons, passant par la remise en question d’un certain nombre de diktats marketing longtemps martelés (comme l’importance du lait de vache ou de la viande bovine), sur le refus de faire souffrir des animaux pour se nourrir et sur l’impact écologique de l’élevage. Les scandales sanitaires ont sans aucun doute alimenté ce courant nutritionnel.

Soucieux d’offrir une belle visibilité à ce mouvement, Natexpo 2019 propose plusieurs voies pour découvrir les produits et nouveautés de ce secteur en plein développement en France et à l’international : un parcours thématique vegan rassemblant plus de 200 exposants, des mini-conférences, des ateliers cuisine à thème…

Le véganisme fait des émules et le fait savoir avec talent !

Des produits alimentaires innovants présentés à Natexpo

L’épicerie salée vegan innove

Les tartines Spécial matin douceur du Pain des fleurs (Ekibio), déjà toastées, combinent craquant, richesse de goût et valeur nutritionnelle. Fabriquées à partir de farines de riz demi-complète, de mais, de souchet, elles sont sans sucres ajoutés, ni matières grasses ni allergènes.

 

Les Croq’Avoine de Pur Aliment (Pural), sans gluten, sont riches en fibres et protéines, tout en étant légers et croustillants !

 

 

 

Pour Babelicot, il est possible de cuisiner les surplus de production des maraîchers – pas de gaspillage ! –  afin d’obtenir des produits originaux et savoureux. Ainsi, le chutney de tomates vertes (les tomates d’hiver qui ne peuvent pas mûrir) est relevé par un savant mélange d’épices fait maison.

Dans la catégorie Produits d’Epicerie des Trophées Natexpo, l’incroyable Ketchup Quintesens de Biofuture a remporté le trophée d’Or. Formulé en Provence à base de tomates de Marande, carottes et betteraves, il renferme 3 fois moins de sucre que le ketchup classique. Du bon, du bio, de l’authentique !

 

Des tartinades végétales, sans lactose, gluten, soja…, aux quatre recettes différentes, ce sont les créations du belge Future Foods. A base de noix de cajou, d’amandes et d’ingrédients naturels, elles se déclinent en formules naturelle, jaune (mangue-chili), verte (concombre ciboulette) ou mauve (canneberge, cannelle, anis étoilé) !

Pour les amateurs de saveurs carnées qui cherchent à adapter leur régime alimentaire, le canard Vegan de l’allemand Lord of Tofu remplacera avantageusement le canard pour les soirées de fêtes. Epicé, d’une consistance et d’un goût équivalents à la viande, il a tout bon !

 

Côté sauce, le belge Lima propose une sauce soja fumée au bois de cerisier japonais. Quant à la mayo’Vegan d’Accent bio, elle est élaborée à base de farine de riz.

 

 

Des huiles végétales inventives

Pour apporter du DHA (acide docosahexaénoïque) dans un produit vegan, le groupe Emile Noël a développé une huile associant huile de colza désodorisée bio, huile de tournesol oléique désodorisée bio et de l’huile d’algues (huile extraite de la microalgue Schizochytrium sp.), huile de tournesol oléique désodorisée, extrait riche en tocophérols (E306). 

S’utilisant à froid ou à chaud, l’huile olive-coco de l’Huilerie Vigean associe 70% d’olive et 30% de coco. Associant une huile solide et une huile liquide, elle ne présente pas de déphasage.

 

 

Le snacking vegan réinvente l’apéritif !

Des chips riches en protéines, fabriquées sans huile ni friture, voilà l’innovation d’Airchips Nutrition. Vegan, sans gluten, sans allergènes, elles associent le pois jaune et le tournesol. Une belle innovation dans le monde du snacking sain !

 

Les snacks de pois cassés soufflés vegan de Bean You sont 60% moins gras que leurs homologues à base de cacahuète. Carotte, cumin et graines de chanvre complètent la recette. La pâtisserie des Flandres a développé des savoureuses gaufrettes aux graines de courge et pavot grillé – une alternative apéritive originale.

Toujours pour grignoter plus sain, Beendhi a lancé les sablés aux pois chiches, sésame et graines de courge, aux parfums d’Orient. Sans gluten, 4 fois moins salés que les biscuits apéritifs traditionnels, ils apportent un goût nouveau ! Ils existent en recette vrac 5kg.

 

La nouvelle galette de lentilles du belge Lima, riche en fibres et en protéines (22%), est adaptée à l’alimentation des vegans, tout comme les innovantes galettes de maïs d’Altiplans. Associées à du quinoa et des légumineuses, elles sont labellisées Vegan Society. Avec seulement 22 kcal/galette, elles représentent un en-cas sain.

 

La Vegan Society

La Vegan Society a été fondée en 1944 par le britannique Donald Watson. Pour lui, « le véganisme est la doctrine selon laquelle les êtres humains doivent vivre sans exploiter les animaux », pour des raisons morales et de santé. Il imagine alors le terme Vegan, prenant les premières et dernières lettres de « vegetarian ».

Le logo Vegan® certifie que le produit est conforme aux exigences de la Vegan Society, et ne contient aucun produit, sous-produit ou dérivé d’origine animale. Bien évidemment, aucun test sur animaux n’est effectué.

 

Vegan, mais pas sans gourmandise !

Les cookies avoine noisettes et chocolat bio et sans gluten d’ABCD Nutrition associent noisettes pralinées et pépites de chocolat fondantes. Elles sont riches en flocons d’avoine pour un maximum de saveurs.

Baramel a concocté de nouveaux cookies au sarrazin et pépites de chocolat, vegan et sans gluten. Disponibles en vrac ! De leur côté, les Boudines, basées en Belgique, ont élaboré de nouveaux biscuits amande/framboise (recette sans gluten, lait ni œuf).

Quoi de plus sain qu’une pâte à tartiner composée de deux ingrédients ? Noisettes grillées et pépites de chocolat 60% de cacao. Go Nuts propose ainsi une alternative sans matières grasses ajoutées et sans lactose aux pâtes à tartiner conventionnelles. La confiture de la Maison du coco adopte la même stratégie : deux ingrédients (crème de coco bio et caramel). Son pouvoir glycémiant est faible. Quant à la pâte à tartiner Hoope, elle intègre de la spiruline. Résultat : 35% de sucre en moins, plus de protéines et une richesse naturelle en vitamines et minéraux grâce à la micro-algue.

 

Pour remplacer le sucre dans les préparations culinaires, Kinako d’Aromandise est un condiment à base de soja torréfié. Riche en protéines, sans sucre ajouté, il apporte un délicieux goût de noisette ou cacahuètes grillées. Il peut aussi s’utiliser dans la cuisine salée.

Et pour fabriquer des boules d’énergie sportives, Mondial Uberti’s a réalisé des préparations healthy à base d’oléagineux et de fruits séchés. Sans sucres ajoutés !

 

Le frais se tourne vers le végétal

Du hâché végétal au curry et au coco, c’est la recette de Tossolia. Ce hâché est élaboré avec du tofu et des protéines végétales, accompagné de curry et de lait de coco. Une alternative saine pour les végétariens, végétaliens, flexitariens et vegans !

Morice a su développer des recettes à base de riz de Camargue, comme la glace végétale à base de crème de riz. Crémeuse mais peu grasse !

Un dessert sans aucun des 14 allergènes les plus connus et sans gluten ? C’est le pari de la Veggine tarte au citron (société TADH), composé d’une verrine pâtissière à la crème de citron, éclats de crumble et meringue italienne. Elle a d’ailleurs remporté le Trophée Natexpo Argent dans la catégorie Produits frais !

 

Les conférences expliquent le véganisme

Atelier cuisine : le véganisme par Fabien Borgel

Les chefs exprimeront tout leur talent lors des ateliers cuisine, ouverts sur les allées du salon. Créateurs de plats authentiques et savoureux, ils sont les artistes des saveurs, notamment à partir de nouveaux ingrédients présentés sur le salon. Fabien Borgel, chef du restaurant 42 degrés, qui propose une cuisine crue et vegan, saura révéler les saveurs du véganisme !

Le vegan sera aussi présent via les conférences de Natexpo, comme sur le forum Natexbio. Permettant de faire un point sur différentes thématiques du marché de la bio, comme la nutrition et les tendances vegan. Ainsi le mardi 22 octobre, de 14 à 15h, Hélène Modrejewski, fondatrice de Vegan France Interpro, et Florence Dusseaux, y présenteront le marché vegan.

Partenaire du salon, Vegan France Interpro est une association française pour la promotion et le développement économique des alternatives vegans. Elle regroupe plus de 120 sociétés françaises adhérentes. Alliant une mission de représentation et de promotion, Vegan France Interpro crée des liens entre les professionnels et permet d’accroître leur visibilité.

Le vegan sera aussi abordé au Forum des Bio-tendances, organisé en partenariat avec Bio-Linéaires. Ces mini-conférences, organisés par échanges entre professionnels, aborderont les tendances de consommation émergente dont fait partie le véganisme.

Défiler vers le haut

 

 

Share via
Copy link
Mentions légales et données personnelles