Specialist organic retail is facing a number of challenges which shops must address to adapt to a rapidly-changing market.

Specialist stores remain the major selling channels for organic products, and they are diversifying into new sales formats and concepts: zero-waste shops, local sourcing, increasing sales of loose goods, etc. And, just like new apps such as MyLabel, which evaluates products according to the buyer’s selection criteria (planet, health, society), organic fans are gradually fine-tuning their requirements and are likely to redirect their future purchasing according to these trends. Retail channels must be ready to meet these needs by focussing on these criteria. Whilst also developing their online presence, which is another major factor for the coming years.

In view of these substantial changes, Natexpo offers tangible responses to retail players through its talks and round tables and its speed dating space Retail Expert which will include contributions and advice from specialists.

 

The evolving organic consumer and the transformation of retail

At Natexpo, 1,100 suppliers will be in attendance, with their products and communication illustrating the major changes underway in the organic sector.

The first stakeholders affected by market change are retail professionals, who constantly seek to understand, sense and adapt to consumer expectations. They will find many answers to these questions at Natexpo. Sauveur Fernandez from Econovateur will offer an overview in his talk entitled “Transformation of retail: consequences for organic” on Sunday 20 October at 2.00pm, Monday 21st at 5.30pm and Tuesday 22nd at 3.00pm on the Organic Trends Forum.

What lies behind these changes? Organic consumers, who are increasingly well-informed, are also starting to specify and buy what they believe in. Are they more sensitive to product origin, favouring locally-sourced goods; to their health, through their preferred ingredients; to the well-being of producers through fair trade; or to waste reduction through loose goods? The talk delivered on Sunday 20 October on the Natexbio Forum entitled “Organic store shoppers; key pointers and expectations, when B.I.E.N. comes into play” and the talk on Monday 21st, “Organic store shoppers, changes underway” by François Labbaye, the CEO of Bio Développement, will give a few indications. His third talk, on Tuesday 22 October at 10.00am, will complete the analysis: “Organic store shoppers: how to move forward with and towards them.” The sourcing angle will be developed at a talk delivered on Sunday 20 October at 2.00pm and Monday 21 October at 2.00pm by Biopartenaire and Synadis Bio: “Fair trade: the future of organic?”.

Another topical subject on which organic stores have room for improvement is harnessing digital technology for communication and sales. Alice Roznowiev, a journalist and communications consultant, will explain “The use of social media by a specialist organic shop” on Sunday 20 October at 3.00pm and Monday 21st at 3.00pm on the Natexbio Forum. Tancrède du Réau from Open Digital will enlighten retailers on “Harnessing data in an organic shop” on Sunday 20 October and Monday 21st at 11.00am on the same space.

 

High demand for loose goods

While various foodstuffs such as cereals, rice and pasta have been available in loose format for many years in specialist organic stores, this format has become more widespread in supermarkets to cater to booming demand.

But loose goods also have their share of pain points. Firstly, consumers are regularly confronted with their desired product being out of stock, both in supermarkets and in specialist shops. This may affect the motivation of people wishing to adopt the loose goods trend.

Secondly, the range of organic goods is not yet comprehensive enough to enable the opening of an organic shop selling only loose goods. This is why shops of this type tend to offer a range combining organic and traditionally (or sustainably) produced goods.

To offer insight into these issues, Célia Rennesson from Réseau Vrac will give a talk on the Organic Trends Forum on Sunday 20 October at 4.00pm, Monday, 21st at 2.30pm and Tuesday 22nd at 2.00pm entitled “Loose goods and organic”.

In addition, Retail Expert, a speed dating forum, will enable current or future retailers to develop the subject of loose goods with several retail experts.

On the exhibitor side, HL Display France will present innovative or sustainable merchandising solutions for loose goods.

 

The Belgian firm Zero Waste Dispenser will explain the many ways of selling plastic-free, using stainless steel or glass.

 

 

Jean Bouteille, meanwhile, caters to the growing demand for loose goods in liquid form, thanks to their fountains and reusable or deposit-return bottles.

 

And the Belgian firm Be-Fre believes that bags should only be an option if they are reusable and eco-friendly!

 

Local sourcing gaining importance

Are local products likely to become an essential part of organic retail? The findings of the new Ecozept survey – conducted on 106 specialist organic shops in 12 French regions – will be unveiled by Burkhard Schaer on Monday 21 October at 11.30am on the Organic Trends Forum.

It can already be said that locally-produced goods are gaining in importance in organic shops, and customers are responsive to them. In the same way, the availability and quality of local products are rising – good news for the local economy and for consumers!

 

Concrete support for setting up a shop

More generally, the Retail Expert space will provide an opportunity to people wishing to open a shop to meet the experts. ALV will offer its solutions for all the steps in the establishment process: choice of premises, funding, plans, fittings, promotion on point-of-sale, etc.

 

With more than 60 years of experience in retail, HMY is also capable of designing a project in every detail, from the design of the identity to the manufacture and installation of the furniture.

 

 

With regard to finance solutions, La Nef is a pioneer in ethical finance and contributes to many initiatives with an ecological, social or cultural vocation. In the food sector, they may be able to help you finance your project!

 

 

Consult the full programme and list of exhibitors

 

Scroll Up

 

 

Share via
Copy link

La distribution spécialisée en bio fait face à de nombreux défis, que les magasins devront relever pour s’adapter à un marché en pleine mutation.

Les magasins spécialisés restent les canaux majeurs de distribution des produits bio et ils se diversifient avec de nouveaux formats de vente : magasins zéro-déchet, épiceries locavores, développement du vrac… A l’instar de nouvelles applications telles que MyLabel qui évaluent les produits via les critères de choix de l’acheteur (planète, santé, société…), les adeptes de la bio vont peu à peu affiner leurs exigences et orienter à l’avenir leurs achats en fonction de ces tendances. Les canaux de distribution devront être prêts à répondre à ces attentes, en mettant l’accent sur ces critères. Tout en développant leur commerce digital, autre enjeu des années à venir.

Face à ces évolutions conséquentes, le salon Natexpo offre des réponses concrètes aux acteurs de la distribution, à travers ses conférences et son espace de speed dating Retail Expert sur lequel interviendront des experts de la distribution.

 

L’évolution du consommateur bio et la mutation de la distribution

A Natexpo, 1100 fournisseurs seront présents, mettant en lumière à travers leurs produits et leur communication les grandes évolutions de la bio.

Premiers concernés par l’évolution du marché, les professionnels de la distribution seront là pour comprendre, sentir et s’adapter aux attentes des consommateurs. Ils trouveront de nombreux éléments de réponse à Natexpo. Sauveur Fernandez d’Econovateur fera le bilan lors d’une conférence « Mutation de la distribution : quelles conséquences pour la bio ? » le dimanche 20 octobre à 14h, le lundi 21 à 17h30 et le mardi 22 à 15h sur le Forum des Bio-Tendances.

D’où proviennent ces changements ? Le consommateur bio, de plus en plus informé, précise ses convictions. Est-il plus sensible à la provenance des produits, en privilégiant le local, à sa santé, au travers d’ingrédients privilégiés, au bien-être des fabricants, se tournant alors vers du commerce équitable, à la réduction des déchets via le vrac… ?  La conférence du dimanche 20 octobre lors du Forum Natexbio « Le consommateur des magasins bio, les repères de ses attentes, le B.I.E.N. entre en jeu » ainsi que la conférence du lundi 21 « Le consommateur des magasins bio, les mutations en cours » par François Labbaye, président de Bio Développement, donneront des éléments de réponses. Son autre conférence du mardi 22 octobre à 10 h complètera l’analyse : « Le consommateur des magasins bio, les pistes pour avancer avec et vers lui » ! L’angle du sourcing sera abordé lors de la conférence donnée le dimanche 20 octobre à 14h et le lundi 21 à 14 h par Biopartenaire et Synadis Bio « Le commerce équitable : l’avenir de la bio ? ».

Autre sujet d’actualité et sur lequel les magasins bio doivent progresser, l’utilisation du digital pour la communication et la vente. Alice Roznowiev, journaliste et consultante en communication, expliquera « l’utilisation des réseaux sociaux par un distributeur spécialisé bio » dimanche 20 octobre à 15h et lundi 21 à 15h lors du Forum Natexbio. Tancrède du Réau d’Open Digital éclairera les distributeurs sur « la data au service du magasin bio » dimanche 20 octobre et lundi 21 à 11h sur le même espace.

 

Le vrac fortement sollicité

Si différentes denrées alimentaires telles que les céréales, le riz, les pâtes… sont disponibles en vrac depuis plusieurs années dans les magasins bio spécialisés, on voit cette offre prendre de l’ampleur dans les supermarchés pour répondre à une demande en forte hausse.

Mais il faut savoir que les problématiques sont réelles. D’une part, les consommateurs sont régulièrement confrontés à des ruptures de stock que ce soit dans les supermarchés ou les magasins spécialisés. Ce qui peut être démotivant pour ceux qui veulent s’y engager.

D’autre part, l’offre vrac bio n‘est aujourd’hui pas suffisante pour ouvrir un magasin 100% vrac et bio. C’est pourquoi les magasins de ce type ont une offre mixte entre bio et conventionnel (ou agriculture raisonnée).

Pour commenter ces enjeux, Célia Rennesson de Réseau Vrac donnera une conférence au Forum des Bio-Tendances le dimanche 20 octobre à 16h, le lundi 21 à 14h30 et le mardi 22 à 14h : « Le vrac et le bio ».

En complément, Retail Expert, un espace de speed dating permettra aux distributeurs en place ou en projet d’approfondir l’enjeu du vrac avec plusieurs experts de la distribution.

HL Display France présentera les solutions merchandising innovantes ou responsables pour les produits vrac.

 

La société belge Zero Waste Dispenser expliquera ses nombreuses solutions de distribution de vrac en inox ou verre, sans plastique.

 

 

Quant à Jean Bouteille, il répond à la demande croissante du vrac liquide grâce à ses fontaines ainsi que des bouteilles réutilisables et consignées.

 

Et pour la société belge Be-Fre, les sacs ne sont envisageables que lorsqu’ils sont réutilisables et éco-responsables !

 

Le local gagne en importance

Les produits locaux vont-ils devenir un incontournable de la distribution bio ? Les résultats de la nouvelle enquête Ecozept – réalisée sur 106 magasins spécialisés en bio répartis dans 12 régions françaises – seront présentés par Burkhard Schaer le lundi 21 octobre à 11h30 au Forum des Bio-Tendances.

On peut d’ores et déjà dire le local prend de l’importance pour les magasins spécialisés bio, et que les clients y sont sensibles. De la même façon, la disponibilité et la qualité des produits locaux sont en hausse. Une bonne nouvelle pour l’économie locale et les consommateurs !

 

Un accompagnement concret pour la création d’un magasin

D’une façon plus globale, l’espace Retail Expert sera l’occasion de rencontrer les experts pour ceux qui veulent créer leur futur magasin. ALV proposera ses solutions pour toutes les étapes de la création :  choix du local, financement, plans, équipements, animation…

Avec plus de 60 ans d’expérience dans le retail, HMY est également capable de concevoir un projet à 360°, depuis la conception de l’identité jusqu’à la fabrication et l’installation du mobilier.

 

 

En ce qui concerne les solutions de financement, la Nef est un pionnier de la finance éthique et participe à de nombreuses initiatives ayant une vocation écologique, sociale ou culturelle. Dans le secteur de l’alimentation, elle peut aider à financer votre projet !

 

Consultez le programme complet et la liste des exposants

 

Défiler vers le haut

 

 

Share via
Copy link
#Natexpo2019
Mentions légales et données personnelles