Since 2016, the fair trade product market has been growing in France, following increased awareness of consumers with regard to the origin of what they eat. Today, who are the main fair trade players? Under which labels do they operate? Which ones will you find at Natexpo? We’ll tell you everything!

Fair Trade in 2019

Fair trade is an ethical and responsible economic model. Based on strict specifications, it ensures better pay for small producers (often grouped into cooperatives), protects them from global price fluctuations and helps them to fund new projects.

The good news is that in 2018, products with the “Fair Trade” and “responsible” labels have made a 22% leap and can be found in every department in organic shops. This movement is carried along by consumers’ changing behaviour: a recent OpinionWay survey (May 2018) shows that 79% of French people would like to see a bigger range of fair trade products in shops.  

Flagship fair trade products are coffee, bananas and chocolate, which can be purchased from organic specialists and also supermarkets. Among the main players in the sector, we can cite in particular the Commerce Équitable France association, a collective that represents French fair trade players in France and abroad (Biocoop, Alter Eco, Ethiquable, Guayapi, Les Jardins de Gaïa, Malongo) and the NGO Max Havelaar, whose main mission is to “act for fair trade, respectful of human rights and the environment”.

Note that, in addition to products from all over the world, since 2014 fair trade has included French producers too. 53% of fair trade products from France are bakery and pastry products, followed by fruits and vegetables (figures from Commerce Equitable France, 2018). The objective is to guarantee decent prices for producers to accelerate the ecological transition of French people’s food. Some products have the dual organic and fair trade label, and represent 47% of French fair trade sales.

Fair Trade Labels

You can see several fair trade labels on product packaging. Each one has its own specificities and guarantees, but they all advocate fair trade principles: fundamental rights of workers and producers; better remuneration; environmental protection.

In France, there are the following fair trade labels:

Equitable Ecocert: combines organic farming, fair trade and corporate social responsibility. Guarantees compliance of products with fair and responsible specifications, developed and controlled by the Ecocert group.

 

Fairtrade – Max Havelaar: the most well-known by consumers, this label fights for women’s rights, greater autonomy for producers and against child labour. The label applies to developing countries.

 

Symbole Producteurs paysans: created and managed by small Latin American fair trade producers dedicated to family agriculture.

 

 

Agri-éthique: a label that only applies in France and guarantees French farmers a fair and sustainable income, protects local employment and acts for the environment.

 

 

Fair for life: for trade with ethical, fair and respectful partners.

 

 

Bio Equitable: this label covers all the basics of fair trade (minimum purchase price, development bonus, pre-financing for harvesting).

 

Bio Solidaire: label for proximity partnerships between processors and producers.

 

 

Bio Partenaire: label that guarantees that products are from organic farming and defends organic values, putting humans back at the centre of trade.

 

At Natexpo, you can find brands with the Max Havelaar, Bio Equitable and Equitable Ecocert labels along with newly certified products:

  • Chocolate snack bars by Bovetti Chocolats. Four tasty recipes of chocolate, hazelnut and almond, Speculoos and cornflakes. Organic, fair trade, lecithin-free, GM-free, in 100% compostable packaging. Certified Equitable Ecocert.
  • Organic raspberry Faire Bien yoghurt by Les Prés Rient Bio. The organic raspberry Faire Bien yoghurt is made in Normandy with organic and fair trade milk. 5% of sales are re-injected to sustain the organic dairy farming profession. Certified Equitable Ecocert.
  • Hibiscus and Elderflower organic and fair trade green tea by Maison Meneau. The Hibiscus-Elderflower iced tea by Maison Meneau is fruity and floral. A delicate artisanal infusion of Chinese gunpowder tea and flour petals. Certified Bio Equitable.
  • Preparation for gluten-free chocolate fondant by Max de Génie. Organic preparation for an irresistible, naturally gluten-free chocolate fondant. Without flour or refined sugar and with a low glycaemic index. Home-made in Ile-de-France. Certified Bio Equitable and Fairtrade.
  • Fair trade Pineapple and Coconut jam by Naturgie. For a touch of exoticism at breakfast, discover our fair trade jam that combines the tangy and sweet taste of pineapple with the mildness of coconut. Certified Max Havelaar.

You can also find the following products by exhibitors that use fair trade ingredients:

  • Seeded buns with no added sugar by L’Angelus. The first burger roll with no added sugar. A healthy and tasty alternative thanks to a mix of five seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, sesame, brown flax and poppy) and a rolled oat topping. Vegan, palm oil-free recipe, made with fair trade flour.
  • Chocolate yoghurt by Grandeur Nature. This traditional and tasty dessert reflects the commitments of Grandeur Nature: preparation with 100% organic milk from Brittany, fair trade chocolate and sugar, packaging in a recyclable cardboard pot.
  • Ketjap sweet soy sauce by Autour du Riz. This fair trade sauce is obtained by traditional natural fermentation with soy beans managed in rotation with Thai rice. Delicately sweetened, it is ideal for seasoning cereals, vegetables, soups and as a dip for nems or sushi.

Shall we talk about fair trade?

Natexpo proposes a vast programme of conferences – around one hundred in total – of which two concern exclusively the subject of fair trade:

  • Fair trade: the future of the organic sector?

By Biopartenaire and Synadis Bio- Sunday 20 October, 2pm – 3pm – At the Natexbio Forum – stand F70

  • Alternative and emerging consumption practices (local, fair, bulk, vegan, etc.)

At the Organic Trends Forum – stand D201 (time to be confirmed) Come along and ask any questions you have on fair trade!

 

Scroll Up

 

 

Share via
Copy link

Depuis 2016, la consommation de produits issus du commerce équitable n’a fait que de croître en France, suivant une prise de conscience des consommateurs au sujet de la provenance de ce qui se trouve dans leurs assiettes. Aujourd’hui quels sont les acteurs principaux du commerce équitable ? Sous quels labels oeuvrent-ils ? Lesquels retrouverez-vous à Natexpo ? On vous dit tout !

Le commerce équitable en 2019

Le commerce équitable est un modèle d’économie éthique et responsable. Se basant sur un cahier des charges strict, il garantit une meilleure rémunération aux petits producteurs (souvent réunis dans des coopératives), les protège des fluctuations des cours mondiaux et leur permet de financer des nouveaux projets.

La bonne nouvelle c’est qu’en 2018, les produits labellisés “commerce équitable” et ”responsables” ont fait un bond de 22% et sont partout dans les rayons des magasins bios… Un mouvement porté par le changement de comportement des consommateurs : un récent sondage OpinionWay (mai 2018) fait ressortir que 79% des Français aimeraient une offre plus importante de produits équitables en magasin !

Les produits phares du commerce équitable ? Le café, la banane et le chocolat, que l’on peut se procurer tant chez des spécialistes du bio qu’aujourd’hui en GMS. Parmi les acteurs importants du secteur, on retrouve notamment l’association Commerce Équitable France, un collectif qui représente les acteurs français du commerce équitable en France et à l’international (Biocoop, Alter Eco, Ethiquable, Guayapi, Les Jardins de Gaïa, Malongo.. ) et l’ONG Max Havelaar dont la mission première est d’« agir pour un commerce équitable, respectueux des droits humains et de l’environnement ».

A noter que, outre les produits venant des quatre coins du monde, le commerce équitable s’étend depuis 2014 aux producteurs français. 53% des produits Commerce équitable Origine France sont des produits de boulangerie et viennoiseries. Suivent ensuite les fruits et légumes. (Chiffres Commerce Equitable France, 2018) L’objectif est de garantir des prix rémunérateurs aux producteurs pour accélérer la transition écologique de l’alimentation des français. Certains produits disposent d’ailleurs de la double labellisation bio et équitable, et représentent 47% des ventes Filières Commerce Équitable françaises.

Les labels équitables

Il existe plusieurs labels de commerce équitable que vous pouvez retrouver sur les emballages des produits, chacun ayant ses spécificités et garanties mais oeuvrant tous pour les principes du commerce équitable :  le respect des droits fondamentaux des travailleurs et producteurs, une meilleure rémunération, la préservation de l’environnement.

En France, on retrouve notamment les labels de commerce équitable chez différents acteurs :

Equitable Ecocert : associe l’agriculture biologique, le commerce équitable et la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises. Garantit la conformité des produits au cahier des charges Equitable, solidaire et responsable (ESR), élaboré et contrôlé par le groupe Ecocert.

 

  • Fairtrade – Max Havelaar : le plus connu des consommateurs, qui lutte pour le droit des femmes, renforcement de l’autonomie des producteurs et contre le travail des enfants… Le label s’applique aux pays de voie de développement, tout comme le suivant !

 

Symbole Producteurs paysans : créé et géré par les producteurs paysans latino-américains du commerce équitable dédié à l’agriculture familiale.

 

Agri-éthique : un label qui ne s’applique qu’en France et garantit aux agriculteurs français un revenu juste et durable, préserve l’emploi local et agit pour l’environnement.

 

Fair for life : pour un commerce avec des partenariats éthiques, équitables et respectueux.

 

 

Bio Equitable : le label reprend tous les fondamentaux du commerce équitable (prix d’achat minimum, prime de développement, préfinancement des récoltes) avec la certification “agriculture biologique” obligatoire.

 

Bio Solidaire : label pour les partenariats de proximité entre transformateurs et producteurs

 

 

Bio Partenaire : label associatif qui garantit que les produits sont issus de l’agriculture biologique et qui défend les valeurs de la bio, en replaçant l’homme au cœur des échanges commerciaux.

 

Sur Natexpo, vous pourrez retrouver des marques portant les labels Max Havelaar Bio Equitable et Equitable Ecocert ainsi que leurs nouveautés certifiées :

  • Les barres snacking chocolatées, de Bovetti Chocolats. 4 recettes gourmandes au chocolat, noisettes et amandes italiennes, spéculoos et pétales de maïs. Bio et fair trade sans lécithine, sans OGM dans un emballage 100 % compostable. Certifiées Equitable Ecocert
  • Le yaourt Bio et solidaire Faire Bien à la Framboise, de Les Prés Rient Bio. Le yaourt bio et solidaire Faire Bien framboise est fabriqué en Normandie, avec du lait bio et équitable. 5% des ventes sont réinvestis pour pérenniser le métier d’éleveur laitier bio. Certifié Equitable Ecocert
  • Le thé vert bio équitable Hibiscus – Fleur de sureau, de Maison Meneau. Fruité et fleuri voici le thé glacé Hibiscus-Fleur de sureau de la Maison Meneau. Délicate infusion artisanale de feuilles de thé vert Gunpowder de Chine et pétales de fleurs. Certifié Bio Equitable
  • La préparation pour fondant au chocolat sans gluten, de Max de Génie. Préparation bio pour un irrésistible fondant au chocolat naturellement sans gluten. Sans farines ni sucres raffinés, et à faible indice glycémique. Fait maison en Ile-de-France. Certifié Bio Equitable et Fairtrade.
  • La confiture extra Ananas Coco Equitable, de Naturgie. Pour des petits-déjeuners aux saveurs exotiques, découvrez notre confiture Équitable mariant le goût acidulé et sucré de l’Ananas à la douceur de la Noix de Coco. Certifiée Max Havelaar

Retrouvez également les produits des exposants, à base d’ingrédients équitables :

  • Les buns aux graines sans sucres ajoutés de L’Angelus. Le premier pain burger sans sucres ajoutés. Une alternative saine et gourmande grâce à un mélange de 5 graines (courge, tournesol, sésame, lin brun et pavot) et un topping aux flocons d’avoine. Recette vegan, sans huile de palme, à base de farine issue du commerce équitable.
  • L’emprésuré au chocolat de Grandeur Nature. Ce dessert traditionnel et gourmand reflète des engagements forts auxquels Grandeur Nature est particulièrement attachée : une préparation à partir de lait BIO 100% breton, du chocolat et du sucre issus du commerce équitable, un conditionnement en pot carton recyclable.
  • Le shoyu sucré Ketjap de Autour du Riz. Cette sauce du commerce équitable est obtenue par fermentation naturelle traditionnelle avec des fèves de soja cultivées en rotation avec du riz thaï. Délicatement sucrée, elle est idéale pour assaisonner céréales, légumes, soupes et tremper nems ou sushis.

Le commerce équitable, on en parle ?

Natexpo propose un vaste programme de conférences – une centaine au total – dont deux exclusivement sur le commerce équitable :

  • Le commerce équitable : l’avenir de la bio ?

Par Biopartenaire et Synadis Bio – Dimanche 20 octobre de 14h-15h –> Sur le Forum Natexbio – stand F70

  • Les consommations alternatives et émergentes (Local, équitable, vrac, vegan…)

Sur le Forum des Bio-Tendances – stand D201 (horaire à confirmer) Venez y poser toutes vos questions sur le commerce équitable !

 

Défiler vers le haut

 

 

Share via
Copy link
#Natexpo2019
Mentions légales et données personnelles